top of page

Pretending

Sometimes, I am good at pretending.


I can get up early. Get ready. Do my make up and hair. Leave the house at a reasonable time.


Have lunch with a friend. Go see my grandmother. Attend a baseball game.


Smile. Laugh. Function.


I am so good at pretending, that, sometimes, I forget I'm pretending.


Fake it til you make it.


It's what my dad preaches. If you can't, pretend you can until the pretending become reality.


But sometimes.....


What starts as a good day becomes silently sobs in the corner of my room.


What starts as a good day becomes ignoring phone calls, texts, friends and family.


What starts as a good day becomes insomnia, worried thoughts, reckless behaviors.


What starts as a good day ends in a way that you are reminded just how bad at pretending you are.


You start the day smiling, happy, ready to take on the world - only to end the day wrapped in a blanket of sorrow you cannot escape.


So yes, fake it til you make it, but remember, you can only pretend for so long.....






age 25. 1.6




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page