top of page

Roastin' Love

You have to love new medication right? Well, new medication mixed with breaking open some serious baggage in therapy is the perfect storm for dreams about your high school crush.

Sit back, relax, and enjoy the latest dream journal entry.

*********************************

I love days off. I mean, what could be better than sitting in my favorite restaurant, snacking on my favorite chocolate brownie bites, reading the newest novel, surrounded with the aroma of coffee?

Any suggestions?

Didn't think so.

Saturdays are the days I allow myself to sit back and relax. I love coming to this little coffee place, Roastin'. This place was opened by my best friend. Alice is a spunky 27 year old who believes in the healing powers of a great cup of coffee. I believe in Alice, so I let the healing powers of her coffee joint have their way with me every Saturday.

Its also a great reason to see my best friend, eat my favorite snacks, and read my books outside my house.

During the week, you could find me at the local preschool teaching children their ABCs, colors, numbers, and most importantly, how to be decent human beings.

And since I am with my littles all week, I figure coming to Roastin' is the best way to see people my own age.

I just bite into a warm, gooey brownie bite when I feel a tug on my arm. Looking down, I am greeted with the cutest little face, deep brown eyes, and jet black hair. His eyes are a bit red around the rims, making it obvious he has been crying.

I'm about to ask him what is wrong when suddenly his little face breaks into a sly side grin, the kind you expect from someone much, MUCH older.

"You're pretty!" the little boy looks right into my eyes, like he staring into my soul.

Chuckling I ask, "Oh? And who do you belong to?" A quick scan of Roastin' tells me there is nobody here frantically looking for their child. Odd.

"No! You are supposed to say 'thank you," little brown eyes gaze at me, perplexed and a bit disturbed.

With a mental head smack, I whisper, "Of course! Silly me! Thank you so much. And whats your name?" My instincts finally kicking in! I mean, I'm a preschool teacher! Why did it take so long to properly interact with, what I'm guessing to be, a 4 year old?!

"Wayne, I'm Wayne Draper Tarquino." Pride is spilling out of his eyes. He is so proud of his name. He has no clue he just tilted my whole world off axis.

Wayne. Draper. Tarquino.

Could it be. Really? I mean, Draper isn't a common middle name, is it? And Tarquino, I haven't heard that last name since...

Wayne tugs on my sleeve, I look down with I know to be a surprised expression on my face. Poor kid doesn't know what he inadvertently did.

"You okay?" He is so kind. What 4 year old has to check on an adult? I finally snap out of it.

Shaking my head a bit, I whisper "Just surprised! What a strong name. Wayne Draper? You sound like a super hero!"

Waynes toothy grin will warm my heart for a long time. He looks up at me with such pride. "I am. Daddy calls me Super Wayne because I'm his little hero."

"Wayne, where is your Daddy?" I promise I tried to keep my emotions in check. I promise I tried. But the moment his little four year old fingers point to the man sitting four booths away?

Yeah, my expression crashes.

Memories from high school wreck my mind's eye. Memories I've tried hard to forget. Yes, to the point I've hired a therapist to help me through them...

A light tug on my sleeve brings me back to present. "Come on! I'll introduce you!" Wayne doesn't give me time to deny, agree, or prepare. Before I know it, I'm face to face with my high school crush.

Dalton Draper Tarquino.

2.22.2020 age 24

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page